go to shoping basket


The Dan Hemingway Short Story Prize is an annual competition open to all undergraduates at the University of St Andrews, and each year’s entries are judged by a distinguished panel of professional writers.

The first twelve prize-winning stories were published as a collection in 2004 and cover themes from the innocence of childhood to the pain of death and divorce. Some look back in history, others look forward to unknown futures. Their diverse settings reflect the authors’ origins in Canada, the USA, Ireland, England and Scotland, but one thing in common is that all were written by undergraduates mostly in their early twenties, and a couple were just nineteen.

Winners of the £300 prize have included several students in the School of English, but winning writers have also graduated in Environmental Biology, International Relations, Social Anthropology, History and Politics.

The winners

            2017 – Grace Campbell

2016 – Emma Seckel

2015 – Emily Caulton

2014 – Diana Adachukwu Igwegbu

2013 – Marissa Visci

2012 – Siobhan Dooley

2011 – Alyssa Kilzer

2010 – David Brankin
2009 – Rosalind Scott
2008 – Lillian Worth
2007 – Ariel Faulkner
2006 – Hanna Robinson
2005 – Margaret Reges
2004 – Lauren Johnson
2003 – Holly V. Culbreath
2002 – Hannah Buckley
2001 – Tara Quinn
2000 – Martin Zeller
1999 – Johanna Lane
1998 – Janet P. Foggie
1997 – Joanne Baxter
1996 – Katherine Orr
1995 – Gavin Bushell
1994 – James Warner
1993 – Leah Edmunds
1992 – Hannah Grant

2017 Judges

John Burnside
Oli Hazzard
Emma Jones
Sue Hemingway


Doris Lumsden’s Heart-Shaped Bed

"In the history of the competition the stories have been read by novelists, short story writers and poets such as Carl MacDougall, Alice Thompson, Ron Butlin, Kathleen Jamie, and A.L. Kennedy, as well as full-time members of the School of English such as John Burnside, Robert Crawford, Michael Herbert, Susan Sellers and Gill Plain. It's quite a roll-call of expertise in contemporary fiction and contemporary writing in general. They could easily have refused, but it says everything about the Dan Hemingway Short Story Prize that they didn't."

From the foreword by Douglas Dunn - a founding judge

Register and Login Subscribe to our newsletter Members Login Members Registration
Our website makes use of non-invasive (no personal data) cookies to provide you with an enhanced user experience. By continuing to use the site, you consent to this.Close More
The UK Law now requires us to get consent from you for the use of cookies.

A cookie is a small file containing text and numbers generated by the website and passed from your browser back to our website when you revisit the site.

A cookie is used here to allow you to navigate the site, log in etc. Without this cookie (called a session cookie), this site would not work properly and so this has already been set.

We use a popular statistics tool called Google Analytics which uses non invasive cookies to allow us to find out how effective our marketing is, based on referencing how you got to our website (search engine, direct, or from another site etc).

We use an animation based rotating image which uses a cookie to know which image was last displayed so that as you move from page to page you are not seeing the same image every time.

We can also make use of third party services such as video clip players which can set cookies, for example to enable them to know that you part played a video clip previously, or to store customised settings such as brightness or volume. Close